When you have an auto accident, insurance coverage pays for associated costs such as medical bills and damaged property. Louisiana state law requires drivers to carry a certain amount of liability insurance in case of a collision.
Learn more about the laws governing auto insurance in Louisiana and make sure you have the right coverage.
Minimum insurance requirements
Motorists in Louisiana must carry these policies to drive legally:
- $25,000 to cover liability for property damage
- $15,000 per person per collision to cover bodily injury
- $30,000 total coverage per collision for bodily injury
- $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident for coverage in case of collision with an underinsured or uninsured motorist
If you cause an accident, this minimum liability coverage will pay for resulting injuries and property damage to other drivers and passengers. However, you will be legally responsible for costs that exceed your policy limits, so many drivers purchase additional auto coverage beyond the state-mandated minimums. You will also need a collision policy to cover damage to your own vehicle and your own medical bills in an accident you cause.
Fault-based accident laws
Louisiana uses a fault system to determine coverage responsibility in an auto accident. When a driver causes an accident, his or her insurance company covers the costs of the accident up to policy limits. In addition to this settlement, the injured party can sue the responsible driver for:
- Physical and emotional pain and suffering
- Lost wages and lost ability to earn a living
- Property damage and medical costs that exceed insurance policy limits
Penalties for driving without insurance
Drivers who do not have sufficient auto insurance can receive:
- Driver’s license suspension
- Fines from $500 to $1,000
- Registration revocation
- Vehicle impounding
- License plate cancellation
In addition, if you fail to purchase a minimum liability auto policy, the law prohibits you from collecting damages even in an accident caused by another driver.